Surprise visitors

That came later. Earlier there was the pleasure of waking up in the north and then going to The Port for a swim. It wasn't the greatest swim in the sense that the water was very bumpy, there was a nasty easterly wind, and as a result of I spent too long in the water (28 mins) which meant it took me a *long* time to warm up. But I made it to the buoy and back, so that's still an achievement to chalk up. However, I fear I might have inconvenienced others. One of Mr A's swimming photos is in the extras.

After swimming, we (Mr A and I; all the other swimmers headed home) popped over to the Carnegie Cafe to have bacon and egg rolls before heading home. Indulgence. I carried on working until I got a surprise message from Ridgeback13, who was/is on her way to Orkney about calling in. They were just 30 minutes south. How nice! Great to have surprise visitors. We enjoyed showing them around and having a chat. I will need to catch up with various bits over the weekend.

Although it was a grey and cold morning, with a nasty easterly breeze, it's turned into a lovely evening, with light on the stone walls and now pink clouds in the sky in the east (probably something better on the west...but we are on the east of the house).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.