JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Today's event

Richard and I have been looking out for the conventional signs of royal-related stuff: bunting, flags on shops and houses, street parties. And we have found very little, either in our own neighbourhood or in others. R bumped into an elderly woman dog walker in the park this morning, and asked - lightheartedly - 'are you all set for the big event, then?' 'Fuck 'em', she replied, rather to his amazement.  We would prefer a Republic, but we've become accustomed to this being a minority view.
I went into the city centre later, where I knew there was a city council-sponsored event laid on in the Peace Gardens. Even here, I'd say the atmosphere was amiable but muted. The BBC coverage was being shown on a big screen; people were sitting at tables or in deckchairs. There were community groups putting on dance displays, and a few food and drinks stalls.
Mostly I think people were enjoying a sociable day out; I'm not sure the details of carriages or ceremonies were really grabbing their attention.
Polling does suggest that among younger people, there's less and less interest in the monarchy. I wonder how much longer people will be willing to subsidise it all.
Later it rained heavily, which somehow felt appropriate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.