WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

A new perspective

Sometimes it just takes the right conditions. I've never blipped the front of the Helios, because it's always seemed flat and boring, in comparison with the endlessly fascinating west side. But today, walking past on my way back to the car I looked up -- it's hard not to when I pass -- and fell in love. I screeched to a halt and pulled out my camera, causing a person walking behind me to swerve. Blip in the bag! I've put a colour version in extras, but I definitely prefer mono this time. Incidentally I pointed out the Helios as my favourite building to G and K when we passed earlier, and they had never even noticed it. But they had to concede that once seen, the geometry is compelling.

Intercambio as usual in the morning. Once it was over, Maria-Jesus, Susy, Helena and I agreed to stroll down the seafront for a pre-lunch apero somewhere. This stretched out to two beers each, and a lot of chatting. At one point, while Susy held forth about the poor quality of chiringuitos (beach restaurants) in Almuñecar, Helena recommended her favourite place to eat (not on the beach as it happens). The two women at the next table joined in to support Helena, and a very lively discussion ensued. Having left the intercambio at 12:30, it was 2:30 by the time we left the bar, and I was fairly exhausted as Susy and Maria-Jesus make no concessions when talking to foreigners (Helena is Swedish) in their rapid-fire Spanish. Home for a quiet lunch alone with my book on the terrace :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.