Sea of Saltires

Well I thought today's blip was going to be of the Glasgow Necropolis which I had an explore of today following a hair cut and finishing off a little bit for shopping.  Town wasn't feeling very patriotic today.  The donut shop had special edition donuts, but they were May-the-fourth themed rather than coronation themed (I got a Leia bun and picked up a Queen Almondala for P, was tempted by a Jabba the Crunchy-Nutt but it looked a bit messy for on the go).  The donut shop also lost points for having 'Hey Soul Sister' playing on the radio. Stop the train. 

I've been meaning to explore a bit of the east end for some time so checked out the Barras Market and then the Necropolis which was fantastic.  Stopped for some noodles at lunch, and noticed that a number of police motorbikes were sitting on the corner.  Noodles finished, I exited to the independence march which was going past which was very long and turned George Street into a sea of Saltires.   I enjoyed looking at the signs and listening to the chants.  Some highlights:
"What do we want?" "Independence!" "When do we want it?" "Nouw!"
"Boris is a Bawbag" T-shirt
"No mah King" sign
"You can shove your coronation up your ****" - song to the tune of 'she'll be coming round the mountain'
I do love the Scots.  Blip is of the less rowdy end of the march.

Bumped into my pal from uni, P,  but unfortunatley didn't have much time to catch up before my hair appointment, but managed to exchange numbers so will definitley go for a coffee sometime soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.