flavia13

By flavia13

THE GHOSTS OF MOTLEY HALL

A ride around today.  Went up to Kendal to pick my sister up and then went on to Mum's.  

It was very misty and grey when we left home.  As we were in Kendal the blue skies started to appear but then going back along the A591 the mist descended again and stayed that way all the way to Morecambe.

It was a pleasant trip and sorted a few things out for Mum.  Had lunch, then my youngest bother and his partner arrived so we had a good catch up.  We left there about 2:15, left sister next door with her boyfriend and drove along the prom as usual.

However it was still hazy across The Bay so when we got to Carnforth we turned right at the traffic lights and drove up through Over Kellet and on Into the pretty little village of Borwick.

I took a couple of photos of the village green and the corner where there is a red Victoria Regina postbox and a red telephone box - for my colour of red for Seppo's course. Then I popped into the back way to take this photo of Borwick Hall,  

Borwick Hall is owned by Lancashire Country Council and used as an Outdoor Education Centre - but I've rarely seen it in use for several years now.  The front gate house seems to be permanently locked these days.  I believe the outbuildings are used and it does look as if the house is used from time to time, but  not often.  The grounds were looking a bit disshevelled despite this photo and the paths need a bit of a seeing too.  My parents use to belong to "The Friends of Borwkc Hall" and used to have many events to help raise funds to keep it going.  They were always busy and the house was in constant use, but sadly now it just seems to be occasionally.  It is a Grade 1 listed building and the building itself looks in good repair.  It would be nice to visit when it is in use again.

I didn't see a soul so noone to ask if it was OK for me to just pop round to the front gardens to take photos, so I did - but was very respectful of my surroundings obviously.

The exterior of this beautiful building and the front gardens were used in the wonderul 1976 children's comedy series The Ghosts of Motley Hall. It was a fabulous little series and ran for 3 seasons I think.  Much better than the current comedy drama called "Ghosts" in my humblE opinon, mind you that is good too but just doesn't capture that special feeling that Motley Hall did somehow.  Mind you the "Ghost" series was inspirec by Motley Hall so that is terrific.

It had an amazing cast - the main cast being Peter Sallis, Freddie Jones, Sheilia Staefel, Arthur English, Nicholas LePrevost and Sean Flanagan as the ghosts from different era,s except Peter Sallis who was the caretaker.

Some of you UK blippers of a certain age may remember this lovely little series.

After that we drive around the beautiful Lancashire countryside rejoining the A6070 throught Burton-in-Kendal to come out at Farleton and the A591 over the M6 and then home to Grange.

All in all a lovely little drive around.  I've spotted a couple of churches that may be worth a visit in the future.

That's all from me for today - do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.