Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Sad Sight

Several local blippers have recorded the felling taking place in St Ives Estate due to the virus which is killing the larch trees and is harboured in the rhododendrons.  I have walked through the lower part of the Estate where the removal of the rhododendrons has opened up the woodland and now patches of bluebells can be seen,  good to see, but my first look at the area nearest to our house today was upsetting.  I took a walk up onto the moor and then across the road into the Estate so I could come downhill to the area which has been felled to date.

One of my favourite walks/runs through the estate goes along the wall at the top of my blip.  It passed through a pretty part of the woodland with smashing light at the right time of day and has been the subject of my blips several times.  Today's blip shows what it looks like now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.