Living my dream

By Mima

The cafe formerly known as…

….Bean!

It is my go-to cafe in Oamaru, which is where I was this morning, partly on chauffeur duty for J, a sight-impaired friend, and partly to go to the library for myself.

Our library closes this Friday for two whole weeks while a new heating system is installed. I shall miss it. So I checked out a pile of crime novels and other random selections today to last me the fortnight. The place was busy with other readers doing likewise.

The temporary closure has made me realise how much I love the place and what a highlight of my weekly trips into town it is to wander up and down the aisles, browsing the enormous free bookshop that is the library.

As we sipped our flat whites in the Badger and Mackerel afterwards, J and I agreed that we would happily pay our rates bills simply for the pleasure and cost-savings that the library affords us.

Back at Chez Mima after lunch things became a bit manic because the amazing spell of warm dry weather that we’ve been enjoying is coming to a crashing end tonight, when a very cold southerly arrives, laden with rain (and snow a little higher up). 

So I mowed the main lawn (for the last time until spring I hope), line trimmed some essential areas, cleared the chook run of old brassica stems and gave them some lovely new hay to rake through, laid the potbelly stove ready for a cosy morning in the study tomorrow, and picked a heap of veg with which I’ll make soup in the morning. 

And of course Bean and I had a walk, during which we met two neighbours. So our usual 1 hour took 2 hours, thanks to chatting.

And I’m behind with your Blips. Possibly inclement weather for the next couple of days will allow me to catch up…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.