biddy

By biddy

Before the storm!

I went into our local town this morning to buy a pair of walking shoes to replace the ones which have done me good service for a long time!
I have walking boots for rough terrain and open country, but these are for normal everyday sorties. Trainers and soft shoes are not much good in rainy conditions.
Having been successful I had a coffee and a slice of cake at Café Botanico.
I then caught the bus home. This morning was sunny and warm when I set out, and I had taken the detachable fleece lining out of my walking jacket.
As it arrived at my stop around midday, it was evident there had been a cloud burst, with water running down the road and gutters.
Everything was steamy and there was the heady scent of hawthorn blossom in a lot of the hedges. Photo in extras.There had been no rain in town when I was there.
Around lunchtime the sky had become increasingly a dark inky blue, and the new blossom on our now very old apple tree stood out against the sky.
(We have lived in our house for 42 years on May 28th, and the tree was about 15 years old then.)
It still gives us sweet apples in autumn. Last year being a bumper crop,
The storm burst overhead cascading torrents of water everywhere, with huge hailstones as an afterthought. They were hitting the back window like someone was throwing gravel.
The thunder and lightning set off burglar alarms across the back.
Reminded me of the Queen song, with its
“Thunder and Lightning, very very frightening! “
We are going to our favourite place in Cornwall on Saturday for a week. So I’m busy getting things together and making sure the washing is all done.
We go to a self catering property which we have used several times before.
It feels like we are leaving one home for another.
All the wild flower seeds I scattered in the prepared patch by the shed are now beginning to appear. All the recent rains then bursts of warm sunshine have helped. They have also unfortunately helped the weeds as well!
Mr and Mrs Woodpecker have both been visiting the fat ball feeder. So lovely to see them.
Mr and Mrs Bluetit also very busy with the nest box on the back of the summerhouse.
It’s now time for a mug of tea, so hope you are all having a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.