Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Today I have been to the flat I am selling, just a couple of miles down the hill from my mum's place. I have sorted through bits and pieces still in place after my tenants moved out in February. The sofas that I bought are going to Oxford to live with Arachne. The curtains my tenants bought are coming to live with me in Bedford, and other bits and bobs are staying put in case the purchaser wants them.
A removals van was booked to start at my place to pick up everything that wasn't staying put, then calling in at my mums place to drop off the stuff I want to keep and collect the stuff Arachne has been storing here while her house has been a building site, and finally heading off to Oxford with a full payload for Arachne.
First the van was held up in traffic and was going to be 15 – 30 minutes late, then, when it was almost 30 minutes late the engine started somking and it had to be driven elsewhere and swapped for a different van. Eventually they arrived at the starting point two hours late. But everything was ready for them and they were off onto the second leg within 30 minutes.
They were still loading at mum's by the time I got back there but soon off to Oxford with a full van.
Here are some goodbye shots of the flat I first moved into on 21st October 1985. It is a bit of a wrench, but I am ready to move on. Although the flat is delightful, I'm not as fond of the neighbourhood as I was 30 years ago.
I hope you enjoy the virtual tour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.