Bom

By Bom

NWT Walk

This morning I did a really lovely walk with the Norfolk Wildlife Trust from the Cley Visitor Centre, over the hill to Salthouse, up to the church, down to the shingle beach and back. It was about a 4.5 mile walk and we were out for 3 hours. It was lovely and sunny and very warm and everywhere looked glorious. We saw and heard a number of different birds and some butterflies. The highlight was a bird of prey perched on a fence post which those with binoculars said was a hen harrier. We got reasonably close before it flew off and we were treated to it chasing nearby birds which all got away. As it was a 3 hour walk, I'd decided not to take my long lens as too heavy, but I did get a photo of the hen harrier with my shorter lens - see Extra. The guide was very knowledgeable and walked at a nice pace for the group as a whole. I walked around with a lovely lady which made it an even nicer walk, and we had a bacon butty and a drink when we got back to the visitor centre. A glorious day on the marshes which makes you feel so lucky to have all of this on your doorstep. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.