Bom

By Bom

Dawn Chorus Walk

My alarm went off at 4:10 this morning so I could get up, get ready and drive over to Sculthorpe Moor at Fakenham for the dawn chorus walk starting at 5am. The walk was originally planned for last Friday, but had to be postponed due to forecast heavy rain. Today couldn't have been more different with a lovely red sunrise when I left the house and sun for the walk, albeit with a heavy low mist over the water. Due to the day change, there were only five of us, not the ten originally planned (one was a no show on the day). We spent a delightful two and a half hours walking round the reserve, all on the boardwalks this time, I assume the off boardwalk areas are still too wet. We heard lots of different birds, our guide is very knowledgeable. We saw a red kite and a cuckoo perched on the same tree, but both winged it before I could take a photo. The cuckoo was calling relentlessly. Lots of warblers around today. After the walk we returned to the visitor centre for warmed croisants and danish pastries and a cuppa. It was here that I got the photo of the cockerel. A lovely visit, an annual highlight. 

I gave one of my patios a good wash and brush up this morning before getting the patio furniture and glass panels out of the garage - probably the latest I've ever done this. A glorious afternoon with full sun and what must have been a temp around 25C. I only managed two spells of half an hour or so sitting out as it was so hot, but soooooo nice to sit out after all the dull and wet weather we've had. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.