Brief Encounter

I was telling mum what we were planning on doing whilst we were away on holiday and mentioned that we were having a posh lunch on a steam train on Saturday. I reminded her that she and dad had once come up from Chester to Carnforth on a Pullman Dining Train (far posher than we are having!) and we had surprised them by meeting them at Carnforth where there was an opportunity for guests to get off the train for a while. I seem to recall it was around 10 - 15 years ago but, sadly, mum couldn’t remember the occasion. I tried jogging her memory by reminding her I’d taken a photo of them standing under the clock made famous in the film “Brief Encounter” and she asked me to show it to her next time I was visiting to see if it brought anything back.
Not a lot else to report today. Coffee with Stu this morning and a bit of tidying up this afternoon. I should have done the ironing this evening, but haven’t summoned up enough enthusiasm/energy yet. One bit of good news though - contracts have finally been exchanged for the sale of our Chester flat. Finding it a little hard to believe it won’t be ours after Friday. We put it up for sale six months ago, but everything seems to happened in the last fortnight, so it’s all been a bit frantic. Thank goodness we’ve got that holiday coming up, though I’m not sure it’s going to be any less hectic, with everything we’ve got planned for the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.