The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Woodland Garden (Thursday 11th May 2023)

I'm glad this Joker's Hat tulip (aka Go Go Red) has hung on until today as when I noticed how the wind had blown its petals I thought it would be suitable for Abstract Thursday with the theme this week of 'Circles/Round'.

This afternoon I drove over to the BMW/Mini dealers in Melksham to have a look at an all electric 2021 Mini Cooper that I had discovered online. Nick the salesman was very helpful even though I made it clear that this was a speculative enquiry and that I wasn't yet ready make a purchase. He even took me for a test drive in the very car I had been looking at (in Extras), finished in 'Moonwalk Grey', and I must say I found it very satisfactory in all respects apart from its range. Whilst 90% of my car trips would be within its range of 100 miles plus, the problems of re-charging on the road for the other 10% would be considerable. He told me that the next model, due to be launched in March 2024, would have double the range and hopefully would be more competitively priced, so it looks as if good old Archie will live on at the Old Forge for the next year or so.

With thanks to Ingeborg for Abstract Thursday.

L.
Thursday 11.5.2023 (1958 hr)

Blip #3876 (#3626 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #004
Blips/Extras In 2023 #084/266 + #051/100 Extras
Day #4793 (1177 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3016 (#2856 + 160 in archived blips)

Taken with Pentax K-5 and Pentax  D FA Macro 100mm F2.8 WR prime lens

Old Forge series
Flora series
Woodland Garden
Tulips series
Macro series
Abstracts And Experiments series

Woodland Garden (May 2023)   (Flickr album)(Work in progress)

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Steve Reich - Music for 18 Musicians (1978)
Premiered in 1976 this was the first recorded version of the piece, on which Steve Reich himself played piano and marimba, and was released on ECM. Iggy Pop might not be the first person one would imagine to be a fan of minimalist music but frequently plays examples of it on his 6 Music show Iggy Pop Confidential and played this piece (in excerpts) on 23 April.

One year ago:
Loki, God of Mischief

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.