Photogen

By Photogen

Simmer Dim at Unst, 2am

Yesterday it looked as if there was going to be a great sunset and I set off at 9.30 for the Westing where the little islets off shore break up the seascape reflections. Typically in Shetland, a local storm suddenly blew in, but all was not lost. I stopped the car and from the sheep-pen at Snarravoe Loch I got some shots of the dramatic thin strip of orange light silhouetting the houses on the far horizon across the Bluemull Sound on the island of Yell - definitely one for the album.

However I was still awake at 2am and noticed that the sky was beautifully clear again and it looked as if it was getting light. The Shetlanders call this the 'simmer dim' when the light dims but it does not become completely dark.
I shot this from the upper landing window of Belmont House. The water on the left is the sea and on the right is Snarravoe Loch. The chimneys and roofs are Belmont Farm directly behind the house. Ideally, I should have got dressed and gone outside to find a better viewpoint, but at two in the morning I don't think opening and closing doors would have been appreciated! Anyway, it was still an amazing vista.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.