Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The Old Church

This blipfoto is of St Michael The Archangel church I discovered about a week ago whilst exploring country lanes near my house. It's so easy to pass without realising as it's off the beaten track and has a high hedge around it. I went back today and had some time exploring it.

I was stuck at home until late morning with an expert testing our front door to try and establish why it leaks sometimes. Sods law, it didn't leak today and that is good news and maybe because I put in an additional seal...but he did find a leak in the surrounding large triple glazed glass pane (which has not leaked before!).

The church is still consecrated but no longer used. There's been a church on the site since 1056AD but this one was built about 1150AD. The extra shows a Roman Altar inside the church that was found nearby in a heap of rubbish!

This old gem of a church is only ten minutes from home and I'm delighted to have found it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.