secret garden

By freespiral

The Great Selkie

I am a man upon dry land
I am a selkie in the sea
And when I'm far from every strand
My dwelling is Sule Skerry Kitchen Cove"


Well I was up very early this morning, the alarm was set for 5.30am but when I looked out of the window it was absolutely lashing, murky and windy. I had seen the forecast and suspected as much and I'm afraid I went back to bed. I should have leapt up, donned my clothes and driven an hour to Toe Head where at 7am hardy souls were gathering for  a pilgrimage to St Bartholomew's Well followed by a swim! When I woke again it was 7.30 and the rain and stopped and I felt bad. I think a handful of hardy types did meet up, walk the walk, take a dip and then enjoy some time in a mobile sauna! 


I did do a dip in penance later on - the selkie's Himself's idea.  It was not exactly roasting outside but the water felt seriously perishing today. It must be good for us. 


The Great Selkie by Trees, I loved this album, crikey 1970.



And there's a new blog


A selkie by the way is another shapeshifter, this time from seal to human. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.