Everyday Life

By Julez

Brayford

Today I had to go into town to buy some pants for my Dad as Estelle had only put one pair in his bag for the hospital, and they were miles too big! I suppose none of us thought he'd be in so long...

I could not believe how expensive the pants were in M&S - if I'd gone up to my Dad and told him I'd spent £30 on 5 pairs of pants it would have sent his new pacemaker into a meltdown, so I went to Primark! He's always bought them from Lidl.

I walked up to the Brayford to get a Blip while I was in town. 

As I suspected, life on the new ward is duller than the one he was on before, and he was bored. I can't see him getting out of there any time soon - his blood sugar levels are all over the place, there are still issues with his meds apparently, and he is losing mobility by the day. He could not even reposition himself on the bed this afternoon. Yesterday, in the old ward, they had him out of bed in an armchair but they left him on the bed today. Maybe they think he could get out himself if he wants, but one of his knees seems to have lost all ability to bear weight. The staff on this ward are not so permanently visible or vigilant and I did not get to speak to anyone regarding his progress - I will make a point of doing so tomorrow.

One thing he got me to do was call my Aunt and Uncle to let them know he was in the hospital. I hadn't already done so as I don't have their number but he knew it off by heart. Those of us who rely on mobiles and programmed-in numbers even on landlines do not tend to remember phone numbers any more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.