NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Back Blip - Fibromyalgia Awareness Day

The local Council didn’t illuminate the Council buildings in English Street purple for Fibromyalgia Awareness Day. It was also ME and CFS Awareness Day. There is a complete lack of compassion and understanding of our conditions.

I’m disappointed but not surprised that the Council failed to light the buildings up. It is always inconsistent - some years they bother, some years they don’t. I’m sure many others with other chronic health conditions feel the same way. 

To be honest, the illumination is an empty gesture anyway. I guess it was dreamt up in a bid to convince us that they care. Clearly someone forgot to send a memo/email…we are the forgotten, left to rot. 

Lighting the building up is only virtue signalling at best and numerous fellow fibromyalgia warriors are in agreement. We know the reality. The online (and face to face) ME/Fibromyalgia/CFS group that I’m a member of certainly know the reality and they have made me feel less isolated. I have never managed to attend any meetings yet but hope to do so.

Playing catch up with Blip as I am in an agonising flare up and I’m physically and mentally exhausted , sorry for the lack of stars, hearts and comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.