ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

The 'Slokopmolen', Spaarndam

Sounds a bit like 'slow kopp'.
Built in 1877, so fairly new.  The way I understand it, the name comes from its function.  It was operated only when the wind happened to be blowing really hard, to 'assist' other polder mills in the area in urgent situations.

Fabulous drive in equally fabulous weather!  When I got there, the path was open with no signs, so I simply walked up to the mill and started taking shots.  After about 5 minutes, a woman suddenly appeared with a garden chair and cup of tea and was amazed to see me.  I asked her straight away if I was standing on private property, and she said 'yes'.  Oh, but in that case... but I could continue taking pictures as long as I wished, she said.  I told her I would finish as quickly as I could.  She said I wasn't the only one who accidentally wandered into that part of the garden.  She has left the path open on purpose and the private part of the garden is screened off anyway with a long and high row of hedges.  Had the mill been facing the road... but I was already thankful that it was facing the sun.

The rest of the day went as beautifully as the first part -- I finished the research papers.  Returned marks, published general announcement in TEAMS, replied to some reactions.  My work is cut out for tomorrow -- summary of marks for the first-opportunity assignments, which is a purely administrative activity but best to get out of the way.

Short email from the Viking quickly attended to.  All set for tomorrow.  Kitchen duties done, and some gaming, and finally had a good night's sleep.  Thankful for tasks accomplished and for good hunting weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.