The Devil was after The Beef Tub

I had two lengths of rides planned. Both had The Devil’s Beef Tub climb. The shorter ride had another tickable one. It looked windy. It looked dry. Do I go for the shorter or longer version? Concluding this may be my best weather opportunity and the only long ride up my sleeve, I went for it. 

The Devil’s Beef Tub was a joy. I can’t remember the last time I had spare gears on an uphill challenge! The tailwind helped but I knew that was going to be a double-edged sword. The scenery was immediately beautiful too.

Sure enough, on the descent and all the way through to Peebles and a little beyond, I had quite a tough headwind, made copable by the very pretty surroundings. Steady, steady - my legs were a bit tired and I knew there were more hills to follow. 

And there it was. My hopes realised. Following a couple of miles of clean tarmac railway path and then back to road, I watched the grass bend in my favour! I had a tailwind all the way home through unexpectedly delightful mountain and loch terrain. The hills were fine (the second one, strangely unnoticeable) and I just revelled in the space all the way home with one mighty fine descent through steep sided hills as the finale. 

Eat. Eat. Eat.
I’ve made a hole in the fridge. 

I brought Diablo, my mini toastie maker which seemed fitting for its first outing in the van given the name of the ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.