Surfing With The Alien

As previously mentioned, I’d made a bit of a cock-up over last nights entertainment. I’d booked a hotel in Manchester, based on the fact that we were going to see Bonnie Raitt in concert on the 14th. And, indeed we are. On the 14th June. Not the 14th May. D’oh!
As the hotel was already paid for, we were committed to staying in Manchester so looked for alternative entertainment. All I could find (that might be of interest) was Joe Satriani in concert at Bridgewater Hall. There were a couple of seats available so I booked them on the basis it was better than just sitting in a hotel room. I had heard of Joe Satriani but don’t really know his music. All I knew was that it was mainly instrumentals and he was a bit of a guitar virtuoso. Well, that much was true. But it was a bit too “metally” for my tastes and - apart from a couple of slower numbers - all a bit samey. But it was a reasonably pleasant way of passing the evening and it was something I probably wouldn’t have gone to otherwise. Though I don’t think I’ll be going again!
Today was all about travelling as we made our way down to Milton Keynes, where we are basing ourselves for the next three days. Arriving around lunchtime, we called in at Bletchley Park. We’d been there last June and they’d told us then that the tickets were valid for a year. Not the easiest place to pop back to when you live in Cumbria so it was good to be able to make use of the tickets before they expired. We actually remembered more than we thought but, what was nice, was being able to explore the outside places more thoroughly, as it was pouring with rain last time we were here.
Settled in the hotel now and having a quiet night. Tomorrow’s plan is to go and explore some Cotswolds villages and/or Oxford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.