Who Will Buy

Drawing back the curtain at 5.30 this morning (after only four hours sleep!) I was initially disappointed to see it was dry outside. Deep down, I secretly hoped it would be raining so I had a legitimate excuse to abandon the idea of doing a car boot sale in favour of going back to sleep.
I felt a little more alert after showering and breakfasting, and a quick look outside revealed it was reasonably warm and dry, even if there was no sign of the sun. As the car boot venue is only two minutes drive from our house, and the car was already packed, it seemed churlish not to proceed.
Quite glad I did. Despite what it looks like in the photo, there was usually someone browsing, if not actually buying. Can’t say I shifted as much as I would have liked, but a reasonable profit was made. Mainly, it has to be said, because Mrs C’s continuing illness meant I was flying solo, so no chance to browse the other stalls and fritter away any ill gotten gains. But it was a pleasant morning in the fresh air and I chatted to quite a few people I knew and hadn’t seen in a while.
Last nights gig was a farce. We were continually asked to turn down, to the extent where we could barely hear what each other was playing. Particularly frustrating for our drummer who normally plays flat out. At one point in “Whiskey In The Jar” he replaced the usual “cannon shots” on the snare drum with a couple of half hearted taps on the cow bell. The guitarist and I found that so funny that we temporarily lost our way in the song. Which pretty much summed up the evening. It was a 70th birthday party and I hope to God I’m not like that when I reach that age - the gear was pretty much packed down by 11.30pm and we were the last ones there!
All that, of course, meant I caught the end of Eurovision and after I’d chatted about it on Facebook, it was 1.30am by the time I got to bed. Hence only four hours sleep and a reluctance to stir this morning.
Asa consequence of all of that, a quiet afternoon has ensued and I feel sure a nap of some sort will be had at some point!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.