Living my dream

By Mima

Back on the Cape

We puddled out of the new cabin just before sunrise to a sparkling and crunchy world. It was out first proper frost of the year at -2C. Brrr.

Of course it not only meant a cold morning, but also a glorious sunny day. So once we were in town, a walk on the Cape was too inviting to miss. The Pacific was looking at its best.

The frost reminded me that the car needs two new rear tyres. Better safe than sorry on icy roads. Replacements will be put on next week.

Yesterday’s fuchsia was zapped by the frost and is no more. I’m glad I caught it when I did.

I spent the afternoon in the garden, line trimming and then picking the Muriel’s Magic beans which have dried on the plants. I shall dry them a bit more on the big shelf in the truck, before they are podded and stored for winter warmers. I’ll pick the dried scarlet runner beans tomorrow, which will get the same treatment.

The highlight of the day was finding a dead possum beneath the GoodNature trap. Hooray! I bought new lure for the trap a couple of weeks ago and it seems to have worked. I heard three possums a couple of nights ago. Let’s hope the other two are similarly attracted to cinnamon jelly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.