Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The wisteria arch

Last night it was very interesting to hear the judge's comments about selected images that will be going in to the exhibition. She could not talk about every image, with each person allowed to enter 6 prints and 6 PDIs (projected digital images) there were too many to talk about, so she selected one from each person that she really liked and then of course also discussed and awarded the 1st, 2nd and 3rd places plus Highly Commended to images in each class. Judging is very subjective, as much as judges say it isn't, and what was interesting last night is that there was a complete reversal of results. An image that scored really badly in a previous competition, when the judge was quite blunt in how weak he thought the image was, was now chosen as the best image of the exhibition! This was the trend for the evening, as previously high scoring images were not chosen by her for awards, and more unusual and low scoring images were given awards by her. I managed to scrape by with one Highly Commended. It goes to show how judges opinions differ so much.

It was a beautiful sunny day today, so I took the opportunity to go to RHS Wisley as I wanted to see the wisteria archway. This was only planted a few years ago so it is not fully developed yet, and of course each year it gets better and better. It was difficult to get this shot as people were standing in front taking selfies. Two girls (tourists) were taking so long hogging the space in front of the archway while I waited so patiently, but after a long of photos after photo is a thousand different ways while I had to ask them to move so I could finally get a photo.

In the extras is a Toona Sinensis 'Flamingo' (Chinese Cedar Flamingo tree) which is classified as a champion tree as it is the largest specimen of it's kind in the UK and Ireland. It was getting lots of attention from the visitors to the garden.

This afternoon I also downloaded the new updated Version 6 of Nik Software, it seems to have many new changes which I must learn how to use.

I am loving my book that I am currently reading, Strange Sally Diamond by Liz Nugent - it reminds me a little of Eleanor Oliphant as the main character is also on the spectrum due to a childhood trauma. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.