A day in the life

By Shelling

Less than a day

The calf arrived while I was finishing my breakfast, just after half past eight in the morning, about the same time as I decided that, since it was raining, this was a good day for laying the floor in my attic. I've hesitated doing it because the dust from the insulation makes me cough to the point where I almost throw up. That's why I waited until a rainy day. I won't go into detail about all the time, decisions and measuring it took before I had the two rails on each side that carry the floorboards. Once they were laid out, the job was fairly simple and well paid off, in that the floor was growing quickly in front of me. 

When I was done with the floor about half past four, I went out to have a look at the calf who's had its firs day in the world, bonding with its mother and had masses of impressions of this new life outside the mother. The main photo was taken during a restful phase when the calf was licked dry by mama cow. I's seen it earlier walking around, learning to handle its four legs properly, an hour after the main photo, the calf was practicing jumps and runs while the mom looked like she could need a rest after a day of labour and mothering cares. The other cow, that was there only to be a company wandered around aimlessly like it didn't have any real purpose anymore.

The rain has been going on all night and some of the day, the grass is now very green again after a long period of drought. In a couple of days the sunny, dry weather is back again, as it usually is during my birthday week starting next Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.