An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Metal Mickey's let himself go!

Another sunny day :-)

Up early and out into the garden to get on with the tub planting.  Two little sparrows kept me company today, singing happily from the fence.  Lola also kept me company, settling down in the shade (after her zoomies) and of course D, who was doing all the heavy work of moving and lifting the ceramic pots and bags of compost. 

All planted up by 1pm and looking good.  Also got a lovely surprise as the pot that contained the lilac bush planted by my mum in 2010 has new growth!  I thought we had lost it completely.  It had become straggly and almost without foliage and in desperation I cut it down to earth level last year.  There was no sign of life a few weeks ago and I thought we would empty the pot when we came to plant this summer's new plants, but today there are lots of sturdy shoots coming from the woody trunk that just peeks above the soil.  It made me very happy :-)

Made lunch then left David to water everything.  We have new garden furniture arriving tomorrow.  We are replacing the dining set and have offered the old one (still in good nick) to Alan's team members.  So far four have expressed interest so will have to see who brings the best cake draw straws to see who gets it :-)  We've also ordered two reclining garden chairs with matching foot stools so now I will have a comfy seat to sit on in the garden and be able to read, crochet, chat, drink gin, snooze and sketch in comfort (not necessarily in that order ;-)

Wee trip out late afternoon to be given a hormone injection through a very thick needle!  I was very brave :-)) My recent blood test has shown I am peri-menopausal, not post-menopausal, so this course of injections (one a month for six months) will hopefully give my 56 year old body a kick up the backside and put me into menopause.  Looking forward to the hot flushes commencing.  I'm lying, I'm not :-/ 

Tesco online order sorted but it gave me the rage.  The running total was at £103 and I only had one dinner on the list!!  Supermarkets really are taking the piss! 

Finished reading Richard E Grant's book, A Pocketful of Happiness.  It made me laugh and cry.  We are seeing him at Perth Concert Hall next week and I suspect he will make me laugh and cry then too.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.