Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

3063. International Day Against Transphobia

Yesterday was the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia so my eldest, who is non-binary rocked a dress to work.  It is the first time that they have dressed in anything like this for work so it was an enormous step for them.  I asked them for permission to share the photo but was a little bit saddened by their comments.  They said they were happy for me to share the photo but be prepared for “weird” comments.  I have reassured them that Blipfoto is a safe place for me to post but they said that they don’t want to hear about any negative comments, which is fair enough, I suggested that there wouldn’t be any and I hope that I’m right….

I am so proud of my eldest offspring and fully support them to be who they are and not to be afraid of haters as we all have the right to live our lives as we want without interference from others who don’t understand who they are.  They are a small proportion of our population who despite the overwhelming trans phobic social media and press receive a devastating amount of unpleasant comments and accusations, but still live their lives in their own way….I couldn’t be more proud of my eldest….

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.