Capital adventures

By marchmont

Tiki tour

A harried day, all of my own making. As usual on a Thursday too tired to swim but I got up to pack and to get ready to go. But having time I thought I'd finish of the tasks from last night. The internet was still playing up but stupidly I persevered. Then the window cleaner arrived and the phone dropped on the floor, so now cracks but I think only the gorilla glass. The plan to leave at 9.30/10 disappeared and it was 11 before I set off 

Lovely drive down to Dumfries through beautiful countryside and roads I did not know. Then I got lost in Dumfries's one way system and parking challenges. I am going to have to start using Waze. F thought I'd got lost but I met with everyone I needed to talk to and saw the extent of the food bank operation. 

Then up the Vennel to meet with J, from school, who I hadn't seen for maybe 15+ years but the years fall away when you meet up with old friends. 

But the chat met I was slightly later leaving Dumfries than I'd thought so a fast drive along the A75, as fast as lorries heading for Cairnryan would allow. No lunch meant that the dinner booking was a necessity. The B&B owner kindly gave me a lift the mile along the front.

When I came out there was no sunset, too much cloud but light over the bay. Walk back to the B&B and fell into bed. A tiring, hectic day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.