Flossmo

By Flossmo

Poppy

Another long and, in some ways, unsettling day.

I left mid-morning to go to the studio. It was quite busy as other members had come in because, like me, they planned to attend an evening meeting to discuss the future of the building.

Although I paced myself with cups of tea and a more substantial lunch than I normally have, I was feeling a little tired by the time we sat down for the meeting.

I guess nothing was said that I didn't already know but it did crystallise what is planned - a community arts and well-being centre, focused on adults with learning disabilities and mental health issues. Within the building there would be also be studio space for artists but the main focus would be a plethora of community activities. What's not to like you might ask?

The answer is nothing, except that parking at the centre has been very difficult in the past and is likely to get much worse with all the new people that are likely to come. The centre is out of town, about a half hour walk from the park and ride car park and quite difficult to access by public transport from Farnham. When someone enquired about parking they were told to bring a bike. When I suggested the overgrown wilderness that is politely called a garden could be converted to parking the answer was that the centre wants to dissuade car usage not encourage it.

So my overall conclusion is that, if the planned scheme goes ahead, the studio will no longer be somewhere I will wish to go. It was a nice to have, not an essential  and I will doubtless fine other creative outlets.

But the come by bike or stay at home attitude is a more general worry. If that becomes more and more prevalent as time goes on what will become of those of us who are frightened to ride our bikes in heavy traffic and not really fit enough anyway? Will we end up confined to our homes, interacting with the world through a glass screen?

The poppy was sitting in the over grown wilderness garden. The colour was stunning.

    

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.