Journey Through Time

By Sue

David Austin Rose

Bill said, "Grab your camera, I want to go to Tsugawa Nursery". I have him trained...he knew I needed the camera. Tsugawa Nursery has been a Woodland, Washington staple for years. It's a lovely nursery specializing in water plants, and all sorts of beautiful things. It's a wet day but we managed to hit a time when the rain was mostly stopped. We also went to the Backyard Bird Shop to get supplies for the birds. That's another fun store to browse in. More beautiful and interesting things to look at. Anyway, this David Austin Rose became my blip as I don't see these types of roses all that often.

David C.H. Austin OBE (born 1926) is a rose breeder and writer who lives in Shropshire, England.[1] His emphasis is on breeding roses with the character and fragrance of Old Garden Roses (Gallicas, Damasks, Alba roses, etc.) but with the repeat-flowering ability and wide colour range of modern roses such as Hybrid Teas and Floribundas.


Today is Memorial Day. My father would have been of an age to have served in WWII, but he had polio as a child, so didn't do wartime service. I had no direct ancestor who served in WWI either. But during the Civil War I had five ancestors who served. One from Tennessee who was captured at Ft. Donelson and the rest fought for the north. One was a drummer boy, one ended up at Gettysburg and was wounded. His name is on the memorial there.

I am proud of my brave ancestors. I'm sure they didn't want to go, but they marched off to war in the Civil War, the War of 1812, and the Revolutionary War. Brave men all and I'm so glad they all returned home, otherwise, I wouldn't be here.

Tomorrow is supposed to not be such a wet and dreary day and I am taking auntie to her doctor appointment and then she and I will do something fun and she will have dinner over here. Hope you all had a lovely weekend.

Oooo, just heard thunder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.