Bom

By Bom

Hoverfly

I went to Sheringham today for an appointment with the podiatrist, coming away with some new orthotics for my walking shoes and some exercises to do. I did take a photo looking out to sea, but it was so calm and was against a grey sky and it looked depressing. So I took a photo of this hoverfly on a rhubarb leaf in my garden. 

An interesting journey, there's 3 routes to Sheringham: my normal one was closed even though the work should have finished; my second choice was along the coast road, which had two sets of traffic lights and so I was nearly late for my appointment. I came back along the main road and had to wait 5 mins at temporary traffic lights. Most of this was work installing access points in preparation for construction of the Hornsea Three cable route. Hornsea Three is a new offshore windfarm being developed 121km off the Norfolk coast and 160km off the Yorkshire coast. It will generate enough electricity to meet the average daily needs of 3 million homes. It will be built within a 696 square km area, with up 231 offshore wind turbines. 240km of onshore cables will be laid to connect the offshore wind farm from landfall at Weybourne to the Norwich Main National Grid Substation over 50km away. Obviously this work will cause some disruption as it crosses roads, woodland, rivers, watercourses, ditches, two railways and multiple utilities: however we desperately need more green energy and a bit of disruption is a small price to pay.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.