Everyday Life

By Julez

Cat Blip

Look at this beautiful ginger feline soaking up the morning sunshine on the shed roof of our next door-but-one neighbour! He is a magnificent creature! Seconds later he stood up, his rest disturbed by the approach of a stripy grey tabby who was soon dispatched. He remains King of the urban jungle!

Having taken this shot this morning and being reasonably happy with it, I did not bother to take my camera along when I went for my exercise walk this morning. I didn't regret it as there was nothing that jumped out at me on my riverbank walk. A good thing in the metaphorical sense - it would have been disappointing to miss out on a more spectacular blip. Even better in a literal sense, as that would have been scary!

There was one incident on my walk - I slightly adjusted one of my earbuds. Seconds later it fell out of my ear, landing in the very long grass at the side of the path and vanishing from view! I'd taken another step or two as it fell, so was unsure as to exactly where it would have landed. 

There followed a frantic search through the tall grass and weeds, grabbing hold of what turned out to be a dead slug in the process. I just avoided repeating the process with a piece of animal poo! I did find it, eventually thank goodness!

This afternoon Wigan Warriors will once again face Leeds Rhinos, who emphatically put us to the sword last week in Superleague. (It could be argued that we fell on our own swords...) This time it will be a Challenge Cup tie. We won the cup last season. I hope they will be more prepared and up for the challenge after last week's fiasco!

The game is on TV but I will not get to see it as it clashes with hospital visiting time. I can't go later as by that time my Dad is ready for sleeping. Recording it won't work either as there will be another match later this evening where the result of our game would certainly be mentioned. I hope Wigan will win so I will be able to watch them in future rounds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.