MikeWest

By MikeWest

Mini Me

I counted three Kildeer chicks in the prairie, but I could not get them all together. In fact they were spread out and hard to keep track of. One parent kept a close eye, whilst the other called from some distance away, trying to distract me. Earlier, before I saw them, it was doing its broken wing thing to get me to follow.

Here was my best capture, like father, like son (maybe). They moved steadily away from me one scurry at a time, with long pauses standing stock still. I hoped one might turn to face the light, but they were moving the opposite way.

I'm getting picky now, thinking about light and distractions etc., rather than just getting a shot.

Extra: Spotted. A spotted sandpiper. First sighting this year. Not the best image, but my only shot of one today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.