Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

GROW YOUR OWN!

We had a good service at Church this morning but because I was late leaving because I was praying with a friend, I couldn’t get back into the sanctuary to take a photograph of the Communion Banner.  I was going to leave it until tonight after I had been to Church again, but then decided that after having visitors this afternoon and then dashing off to Church, I might be a little tired, so after we had had our lunch, I went out into the garden to have a look around.

I spotted Mr. HCB taking the cover of one of his raised beds, and thought that it would make a good shot especially as he had grown all the lettuces you can see from seed - we had some with our lunch - and although I know there isn’t much taste to lettuce, homegrown tastes better than the ones you buy in the supermarket, and of course, it went from garden to table in about 5 minutes.

I had also spotted some mushrooms/fungi in the grass yesterday, but not being sure if they are edible, we have decided not to eat them so I just pulled them and put them on the grass to take a photograph.  I’m sure my blip friend, Nicoiseanne, would know what they are - Mr. HCB thinks the spores, if that’s what they are called, were probably in the topsoil he bought from Morrisons to spread over the wild flowers seeds.  

To update you on my visit to the physiotherapist on Friday;  I had been quite concerned for a couple of weeks because I have been having pains down both legs and sometimes walking has been difficult - so how I managed to do almost 10,000 steps on Thursday, I will never know - I think stubborn willpower came into it somewhere!  Anyway, she examined me and said there was nothing she was too concerned about, but she felt that I had probably overdone the hip flexion exercises - which Mr. HCB thought too!

She has told me not to do any more for a while and when I told her about my walking the day before, she was amazed so we chatted about my knee replacement operation, which I told her would not now be done for at least 6/7 months.  She said if I wasn’t in a lot of pain, I didn’t have to have the operation, but it would help if I could lose some weight.  I listened carefully to her, because having already had 4 surgeries on my knees, I’m not really looking forward to more.  

She said I have good movement in my hips and knees and has given me some different exercises but says I should only to do them three times a week, so I will see how that goes.  She suggested I still leave my name on the list at the Clinic in Reading, but that if I lose weight and my knees aren’t that painful, then I might like to reconsider when the time comes.  Sensible advice and I trust her, because not only is she a good physiotherapist, but she is also a friend.  

Hope you all have a great week and again, I apologise for not commenting, but life has been rather full and fraught for a few days - so thank you for your understanding.  

MYCOLOGIST 
Someone who studies mycology - the study of fungi.

MYCOPHILE
Somene whose hobby is hunting and foraging for mushrooms.

P.S. You can probably see in the background two more of Mr. HCB's contraptions - you know how much he likes them - all ready for his runner beans, more he has grown from seed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.