Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Wendy's in the wrong place!

Tony and I drove over to Shibden Park today (home of Gentleman Jack's Shibden Hall) for the Yorkshire Orienteering Sprint Champs.  It was a two race event with the first race taking us through a small housing estate, in to a wood and back through the parkland to the finish.  We had a break of an hour or so, time for a kit kat to replace the energy, then the second race took us through thick woodland, across the miniature railway line, into a stream valley and back through the parkland again.  The two times were added together for the final result.

I was busy blipping the prize giving when my class, ultra vets, was reached and I heard my name - which was something of a surprise.  I handed my camera to Tony and upped and went to stand in 3rd place when folks started calling, 'Wendy's in the wrong place.'  It turned out I was placed first.  There was actually an orienteer who was above me but she was not from the Yorkshire region so did not qualify for prizes, so that makes me in second place the Yorkshire Sprint Champion, woo hoo!

It was very pleasant to sit and chat to Club members in the sunshine over cuppas and food.  It's a pretty park with lots to do and an excellent café so it was no wonder that it was very busy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.