pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

One bed dug...

This has pretty much been my day! Jon and Henry went off to archery, and at 9.30 Josh arrived to see Mollie. So I was able to load up my bike and trailer, and head off to the allotment for a bit over an hour.

I let Bessie out to enjoy the sun, and started digging this really quite small bed, ready for my beans. It was slow going. By 11 I had managed half of it, and then went home. I didn't want Mollie to be left on her own, although she is doing really well, and moving slightly faster - perhaps now tortoise rather than snail :-). I think if she is on her own there will be the temptation to do things.

The boys came in just after me, and we had coffee in the garden. Prepped a bit of veg for dinner, then I forced myself back to the allotment where I stayed for the next 4 hours. The bed dug, and I then planted my runner beans (15 of those) and some peas, dwarf French beans and 2 courgettes. The old school table frames are for attaching a protection to. I used the fabric from an old gazebo (see extra). I do like it when I manage to reuse something that Jon thinks I've thrown away!

Back home at 5, and Jon was cooking the roast. All I needed to do was make the gravy - the most important bit of a roast dinner in our house, so noone wants to risk getting it wrong, and therefore it's my job!

I've been in contact with Manda today, to keep track of my nephews progress. It's going to be a long slow process, as he has had both jaws broken to correct a severe underbite. Poor boy is swollen and unable to eat. He could be staying in for another night while they get fluid into him. Keeping our fingers crossed that being young and fit, he can make good progress. I know how worrying it is for Manda and Bruce. We are all thinking of him.

I've just had a lovely hot bath. Ached after the digging. Now going to watch episode 2 of Ten pound Poms.

P.s. I forgot to tell you yesterday, but Henry managed to get the bird box camera attached to the TV, and we have 8 baby bluetits!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.