Life Savors

By osuzanna

Last of the Peonies

I got home from Costa Rica very late Friday night so first thing Saturday morning I went into the garden to find just three, slightly wilting peonies still remaining.  I am so glad I took that iPhone shot on the morning of my departure so at least I got a glimpse of how they must have looked when they all bloomed.   I cut and put them in a mug of water and decided this might be a good blip for today.

My trip home was uneventful but very long.  I was up at 4:15 am for a 8:55 am flight. We were told to get to the airport 3 hours early, so I did and had about 2.5 hours to spare.  My layover in Houston was very long, but I knew I had to clear customs (thank you, Global Entry) and that it would be my only chance to have a decent meal.  I remembered that during another layover there, I had a wonderful meal at a New Orleans style restaurant but when I found it, it was now called GastroHub and there was a line for entry.  I had plenty of time so I decided to wait and review the menu.  When I was finally seated, I was informed by the waiter that they were out of nearly everything including white wine. The only entree left was a burger so it was a burger and red wine for me. 

I needed to get an Uber home after my arrival at National Airport, because while I was away in Costa Rica, my husband flew to Las Vegas for the first two games of the NHL Pacific Conference championship.  Apparently 11 pm is a peak time for Uber at this airport with 3 different flights had arriving about the same time..... so $90 later, I arrived home after a 30 minute ride.  

I have spent the last two days going through pictures, catching up on laundry and taking it easy.  Yesterday was #2 son's birthday, so he came over to watch the hockey game with me and then I took him out to dinner to celebrate his birthday and the win.  The Knights have won the first two games of this best of seven series, both by one goal, in sudden death overtime.  It doesn't get any more exciting than that! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.