Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

TIN OPENER.

The Tiny Tuesday theme today is " mechanical ".  So I've blipped my mechanical tin opener. A tin opener is a machine composed of a lever, wheel and axle and wedge. Thanks to H0tamer for hosting.

The last time I used this tin opener was a couple of days ago to open a tin of salmon and I remembered when I was young and the only salmon I had ever tasted came from a tin.  I think I must have thought all salmon came in a tin. That was until I went on a training course to the London Head Office of the company I worked for.  All the staff who were on the course - including the tutor ( my future husband --- although I didn't know it at the time ) - stayed in a hotel near the Albert Hall.  We all had our evening meals together at one large table.  The first evening I saw salmon on the menu so I chose that.  I  assumed it would be tinned salmon.  Of course it was a lovely piece of fresh salmon and it was delicious and nothing like the tinned version.  Back home I don't think my Mam ever served fresh salmon but I started cooking it once I was married. These days I have fresh salmon at least twice a week and now and again I open a tin so I can use it in a sandwich.

I went to Neils this afternoon to keep Luna company for a couple of hours.  She wasn't very lively today as Neil had taken her on a long walk earlier but she still enjoyed me being around.... and enjoyed the treats I brought.  I had a chat with Neil - mostly about last nights match.  He enjoyed himself and was glad to be there on such a wonderful occasion. 

After Neils I went to Marks and Spencers in the Metrocentre then home.  All buses more or less on time today.

The weather today has been warm with some sunshine.  Very pleasant.

Steps today - 9,130

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.