Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

A RELAXED CAT

The Mono Monday theme today is " relaxed".  It wasn't a particularly relaxing day for me but Tino was able to help me out and provide a suitable blip.  Both he and Lily love the window hammock but Tino got " first dibs " today.  Thanks to ApolloFly for hosting.

Went to the Co-op this afternoon.  While I was there  I saw  two ladies I know.  Karen works at the Co-op and she used to go to Slimming Group when it was in the Church Hall in the village.  When that group closed she went to a different group on in Dunston.  She works in the bakery dept in the Co- op so is usually " behind the scenes " and I was lucky to see her today filling in on the checkout.  I also saw Emma who runs the fitness class I used to go to until that moved venue and time.  We are friends on Facebook but I haven't seen her in person for ages.  Both Karen and Emma knew I would be off to the footie later so our chat included talk about the match.

When I got home I had a quick meal before getting the bus to town.  The place was jumping.... black and white shirts and scarves everywhere.  A real carnival atmosphere for the last home game of the season.

Kick off was 8pm but I got to the ground early to make the most of the night.  Wor Flags had provided small flags for every supporter in the Gallowgate Stand and The Leazes Stand.  And in the East Stand where I sit there was a big surfer flag.   It was amazing when the flag was unfurled  just before kick off and it went right up across all the fans to the top.  Obviously I couldn't see it as I was behind it but I found a photo on Facebook and have added it as an Extra.  Im sitting more or less behind the " W " in the word WORK.  The flag shows this seasons squad and manager Eddie Howe with the quote .... " Hard Work Pays Off. Dreams Come True.  Bad Times Don't Last but Legends Do."

Just before kick off I had a message from Neil..... amazingly he had managed to get a last minute ticket and he was there at the match.  So pleased for him as he hasn't been to a match for ages. Tickets are very difficult to obtain at the moment.  When he was younger he went to every game - home and away .... and abroad.

Because of Liverpool's result at the weekend Newcastle only needed one point to get into the Champions League.  I think the fans all thought that Newcastle would win tonight and get 3 points but it wasn't to be.  Not that Newcastle didn't try.  In the first half they had most of the possession and lots of goal chances including hitting the post 3 times. Score at half time was 0 -0.

Leicester battled away in the second half and played a bit better. In Extra time the Newcastle goalkeeper had to make a wonderful save to stop Leicester scoring a last gasp winner.  Then the final whistle blew --- score was 0 -0.  Newcastle had the one point they needed.  Champions League here we come.  The crowd went wild. 

After a while all the players, their wives/girlfriends and children and the manger,backroom staff etc did a lap of honour around the pitch and most fans stayed to watch.. I was able to get a good view just behind the barrier.  Ive added a collage in Extras.  I took so many photos tonight it was hard to choose what to include here.


Then it was time to leave the ground for the last time this season. Headed for the bus station among singing and chanting crowds.  The buses are only once an hour and I had just missed one so my wait was 56 mins.  I was first in the queue though.  When the bus left at 11.25pm it was quite full but not packed.  But it was NOISY.  There was a group of about a dozen lads at the back who sang and chanted all the way at the top of their voices.

So I got home around 12.10am.  Shattered.  Then I had to upload all my photos and do a bit of editing.  And then finally get on to blipping.

Im way behind with comments as the site went down before I had finished yesterdays ... and I have no time at all today as Im off to bed now. Will try and catch up over the coming days.  Im off to bed happy.

Steps today - 11,240

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.