My day

By 59

Crab

We moved on from Cowell towards the south of the Peninsula. We decided to only drive a short distance and check out the small towns on the way and stay in an overnight freedom camp. Once we got on the road the wind picked up and it was very blustery - difficult driving conditions. 

The first settlement was Arno Bay with its main claim to fame being a 700m walk to the ocean through mangroves. I toddled off trying not to lose my hat….while Bob stayed in the van. I walked for half an hour and didn’t see any oceans so when I got back to the car park I realised there were multiple walks. I then did the other walk and it all took about an hour. On the way I was amused with the tiny crabs, this one looks like it is smiling at me. It was in a few inches of water. On the way through farming country you could see ships on the way north to Port Augusta in Spencer Gulf. 

We were looking at stopping at the next town because the wind was so bad and we decided to stay at the caravan park out of the worst of the winds. Unfortunately the sites were not level, you would think that would be the first thing you would do if you were setting up a business like this. It isn’t busy with only one other van that we can see. We thought we would drive around and get some fish and chips for dinner but the only shop was closed! Definitely no night life here in Port Neill. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.