JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Ivy leaved Toadflax

Cymbalaria Muralis


I've tried a few times to photograph these tiny and very pretty flowers, which grow between the old flints of the churchyard wall. I didn't know what they were: they have many common names, including Mother of Thousands and Pennywort, itemised in a comprehensive blog post  about them. It was another busy day, including a hospital appointment for J and a supermarket delivery that kept me hanging around the house on a sunny afternoon, but at teatime the light was lovely and I took the macro lens for a short wild flower walk to the churchyard. I set out to see if the marguerites are out yet: they are, just, but the photos were not quite what I wanted. There was also red campion, red clover and what I think is salad burnet, and beautiful light through the trees and on the lichen encrusted old headstones. I will return before long - it's one of my favourite peaceful corners of the village. The day's most striking photo was the extra of the hawthorn hedge just outside our gateway, heavy with more flowers than one slim branch should be able to hold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.