a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Beaune

Les Hospices de Beaune looking absolutely wonderful in the early evening sunshine today.

We've started our journey back northwards, and it's interesting to see the change in temperature that just 250 miles produces.  It is still beautifully sunny again today, but a good couple of degrees centigrade cooler.  

Cathy and I stayed in Beaune for a few days about 36 years ago when we were on honeymoon.  I remember being amazed at the prices of the more famous Burgundy wines back then and wondering if I would ever be wealthy enough to afford them.  Here I am again, and now at least I know that there is a price above which my palette cannot really discern much difference, certainly not enough difference for me to want to pay for it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.