A day in the life

By Shelling

Circus

I was offered a job as the sound technician for an evening of mixed content. My friend Johan, who is singing here, runs a tiny theatre stage in the middle of the forest an hour away from where I live, on the mainland.
I've had blips from here before and I have also played here myself a couple of times. This evening had three sets with different acts. First a singer/actor doing a few songs with Danish origin, put into Swedish by himself, then a woman working with cultural questions both as an actor and as an influencer, with every means being a counterweight to our SwedenDemocrat party with its origin in the Swedish Nazi-party, now one of the biggest parties in Sweden, with an, in my view, inhumaine cultural view. She's working hard debating anti immigrant laws being created by the right wing parties in Sweden at the moment. 

Last in the evenings program was the music group who calls themselves t.o.m. Waits Orchestra. They started off being a band playing Tom Waits music with words translated into Swedish but has developed into a band playing their own music as well as doing Waits songs. I like their work very much and am happy when asked to "run the sound" for them in their shows. They are seven people in the band, using a ton of instruments in their show,  the photo is from the rehearsal/soundcheck with only three of them. It's been a long day, we left from here a quarter to twelve at noon and returned at a quarter to twelve at night. There will be no comments this evening. Good night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.