gennepher

By gennepher

Corn Salad

This wildlife Trail Camera video is less than one minute long.
It's of my Mr Magpie taking cat biscuits off the swing.
https://youtube.com/shorts/nmm9h-r49B8?feature=share

The small birds in my garden are quite comfortable with this Mr Magpie, and they don't go into alarm mode when he comes in the garden. In fact, some of the other birds can be very close to him when he's in the garden and the blackbird might be less than a metre away from him on the ground.

Yesterday, I was watching the small birds from my bed. Miss Fluffy was doing her usual fluffing up at feathers and just messing around among the willow leaves...

Suddenly the alarm calls began, almost too late. All the other small birds hid in the bushes, but Miss Fluffy did not...
There was no time for me with my agility to do anything at this point. So I just watched. Because I had my eye on Miss Fluffy, I knew where she was and I watched her change from a fluffy baby bird to a sleek adult bird and she blended in with the leaves, but she was still in full view and she did not move a muscle/feather.
The pair of magpies swept in, but the female magpie realised it was an abortive attempt, and she swerved away very quickly. The male magpie realised almost too late and got entangled a bit in those very tall bamboo canes I had to put out the other day with all the drying leaves on it.
If I had not known exactly where Miss Fluffy was I wouldn't have known she was there.

I am so glad I intervened the other day against that pair of marauding, magpies, intent on killing, even though I must've sounded like a demented mad woman. It had been Miss Fluffy's first few minutes out of the nest, and she had not had time to learn any survival skills, but she has now, and I think those baby birds can take care of themselves, as long as they listen to their parents.

Creative is the very tiny blue flowers of my Corn Salad. It is outside overwinter, and it gives me salad leaves all winter. I let it go to seed this time of year because it self seeds prolifically and it just takes care of itself. I also have some new corn salad leaves and I've planted the seeds about a month or so ago.

Last night, I put a small dish of cat biscuits outside the kitchen door in the hope that whatever was coming in my kitchen would just take that. And that was what happened last night. That dish and cat biscuits have completely gone. But the dish of cat biscuits in my kitchen has remained which is what I was hoping.

No time for a nap this morning, I have to get on with my day. Catch you later. Have your best kind of day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.