ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Night Owl

Shockingly, the bike has not been out of the garage since it was MOT’d last September. That’s over seven months. The last time it was laid up for that long was back in 2020 when Covid restrictions were in force! In my defence the weather was fairly rotten for most of March and April and by the time it got better, I was too busy trying to get the flat sold.
Anyway, nothing else planned for today, after a visit to the gym, so I thought I’d take advantage of this spell of dry, warm weather we’re enjoying. The bike has been plugged in to a trickle charger all winter so started on the first press of the button. I rode slowly down to the garage to check the tyre pressures - only a couple of psi needed in each - and put some fresh fuel in the tank.
Then I set off for a pleasant ride of some 50 odd miles. Out of Kendal, up to Shap, then across to Tebay before a blast down the M6 to give everything a good clear out. I stopped at Killington services for a cup tea by the lake, and then headed back home.
I’ve always wanted a picture of these carved owls which are at the bottom of a private road in Endmoor, but it’s not possible to stop when in a car. Much easier on the bike though, and I got a couple of shots without too much difficulty.
The bike ran well and showed no ill effects for not having turned a wheel for so long. The new bike jeans I bought last month (see blip of April 14th) proved comfortable and gave a welcome sense of protection.
After wiping off all the dead flies that had accumulated on the screen and headlight, the bike was returned to the garage. I’d been wondering if it was worth keeping it but, after todays ride, I reckon there’s a few more months of enjoyment to be had, especially if we have more of this nice weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.