earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Open Road

Today was a perfect day for cycling: clear skies, warm without being hot, and only a very light wind. These days don't come along too often and it's felt like, for the last year, that I've always been committed to doing something else whenever such a day has arrived. Finally, the timing was right. Unfortunately, my fitness was nowhere near where it needed to be to take on the route I wanted to ride. That was obvious going up the valley. Instead of heading over to Hawes I diverted off to Malham. It was just as well. I knew how empty I was going to feel at the end. It's not so much the distance but all the relentless climbing. My muscles aren't yet conditioned to it. I crawled up the last hill home.

Shenny cooked up some Sri Lankan food in the evening. Roam scooped me up and took me back home. I was looked after. Leeds losing at West Ham - making it almost certain they'll get relegated - was hardly mentioned. I was glad to be out on the open road while all that agony was being suffered. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.