An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Underneath the acer...

Another day of blue skies and sunshine :-))

D was playing golf with Keith, Kenny and Jim so he headed off at 10.30am. I pottered around till it was time to meet my friends Fiona and Janice for lunch. Janice was running late so Fiona and I headed to our lunch venue, enjoying the sun as we meandered along.  

On the way we passed a garden where two young(er) male gardeners were having a Diet Coke break, sitting on the wall with their backs to the pavement.  As we got near to them, two little poodles ran up to Fiona and me from the  garden next door.  Of course Fiona and greeted the poodles with delighted and very enthusiastic cries of Hello little cuties!  Aren't you two adorable!  It was only when the two young lads looked nervously over their shoulders and muttered an embarrassed hello, that Fiona and I realised they thought we'd been talking to them!  Hahahahahaha...I thought I would pass out from holding my laughter in till we disappeared round the corner!   
   
On arrival at our lunch venue, Janice texted to say she would be with us shortly so we went ahead and ordered lunch which was served just as she arrived.  Perfect timing.

We are supposed to have lunch together monthly but between covid and other interruptions, this is the first time we've managed to meet two months in a row for about 4 years!  Hoping we are now back on an even keel.  I think we only managed to meet up four times last year.  

After a lovely lunch and catch up, I got back to the house just after 5pm.  The sun was still shining, Alan was having a great hydro session in the pool, D was back from the golf (a good day.  He and Keith won the four ball) so we headed to the side garden, D with a glass of wine and book, me with a G&T and my crochet, my middle aged idea of bliss.  Actually I concluded that if I could have crocheted back then, I would probably have been just as happy with this in my 20s! :-)

When the sun dipped behind the chimney pots we got the watering can and watered the tubs in the back garden.  Everything is looking healthy and I am really pleased with the dahlias, which were just buds a short time ago.  Lola was having a great time padding about in the water that spilled from the tubs then running and rolling on the grass.  Despite being nearly six she is still 80% puppy, but then I think that's the nature of golden retrievers :-)) 

Our little bluebell patch is at its peak and seeing them under the acer in the low evening sun is my favourite time.  The colours are so vivid and their scent on the still evening air is intoxicating.    They are the only thing tempting me to get the Canon out. Planning to pick a bunch tomorrow and get my annual macro shots.

Back indoors and a shared pizza for dinner.  A lovely end to a lovely day.  More  in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.