A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Flying

Not flower Friday but Flying Friday!

The family are coming for a flying visit over night ( probably not arriving until after midnight) and then heading up to the NW highlands for half term week. Even though they will only  be here for one meal I needed to get a couple of things from the shop for Eda.  Thought I had gf bread in the freezer but no and I need a separate pot of butter for her, also some whole milk for Jude.

Chris had been looking at timetables for the Flying Scotsman operating out of the Keighley and Worth Valley  railway this weekend  to celebrate it’s 100 th birthday! I’m on their mailing list as we’ve taken the special Christmas trains with the children so I’d seen all the events for the engine’s stay during May but they were all pretty pricey, despite that I did want to see it.
Chris suggested we went shopping via Haworth, which is just over the hill, where the train was setting off for Oxenhope at around 9.30. No problems parking at the bottom of the Brow and we saw steam straight away and a small number of people waiting on the bridge.
I am vertically challenged but I managed some shots as the train backed towards Haworth Station. We quickly walked on to the footbridge over the track above Haworth station.  Lots of people waiting here to board the train maybe for breakfast as it had a buffet car. 
The fence is even higher here but I managed to get most of my shots through the bridge trellis work! 
I particularly like the shots of it returning to the station in full steam but have added the others to show more detail. The engine is beautifully painted and polished so that it reflects everything it passes. 

On our way home from Keighley we saw more people finding places to get a picture of it leaving Keighley station for it's return to Oxenhope. 
Glad we went to take a look, we may go back over the bank holiday weekend though it will be very busy. Have a good one if you are in the UK.
(I will add a Flickr link for anyone interested in more of the same)

The funeral director yesterday was supposed to be going on the train as a surprise treat. As it was a surprise it wasn’t in the diary so he booked the funeral, the funeral was late morning but he was supposed to be travelling over lunch, I wonder if he made it?




Thank you for the response to my cygnets yesterday, just heard from Wilsden Walker that there is a second swan with 5 cygnets today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.