Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Way out east!

Another dull start to the day, but my friend Tim and I set off at 7.45am to drive to Wemyss Castle, on the south Fife coast of the River Forth estuary near Kirkcaldy. Tim didn't arrive  from Skye until 12.45 last night, so I didn't get a lot of sleep having set my alarm for 6.30am!

We were off to a Professional Gardeners' Guild garden visit - I had never heard of this place so it was a trip to the unknown! We arrived after a three and a quarter hour drive and met a couple of dozen colleagues in front of the house. Not the prettiest of houses, but the garden was full of all sorts of unusual plants, especially trees and shrubs and we had a great time, accompanied by the owners who drove around in buggies! They have a huge collection of clematis - see extra.

After a picnic lunch we had a wander down to a coastal viewpoint - by this time the sun was shining brightly and it was pretty hot. We left at 3pm to drive home and got back almost exactly 12 hours after we left, having completed a round trip of some 280 miles. I must stop doing this - an early night required!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.