Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Fiddlers three

The band Fara at the Orkney Folk Festival playing their set at the gala concert tonight which celebrated the festival's 40th anniversary. 

The three women all originate from Orkney and came up through the wonderful training programme that nurtures traditional music and young talent up here. I am so envious that I wasn't a child here and could have participated. At least we can enjoy the results! Fara are now well established and it was a joy to listen to them. 

In other news, my great friend from back in Surrey arrived for a few days' visit. The plane was pretty late arriving after a chapter of delays, one of which involved luggage being incorrectly labelled so they could differentiate the stuff belonging to passengers disembarking at Dundee where it stopped en route. So presumably they had to take it all off, match it to the disembarkation sheet and then load it all back on. A simple error but with Consequences!

Anyway, my lovely friend and I plan to potter, enjoy the scenery and eat cake. I can't wait :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.